Counseling

The Counseling Department at Waukegan High School is committed to addressing the comprehensive needs of its individual students. Through fostering important decision-making and goal-setting skills, counselors support each student by developing a realistic plan for success in high school and beyond.

The department's success is the result of effective collaboration with parents, educators, and other important stakeholders in delivering a variety of services that support the academic, personal/social and college/career development of all students.

Beginning freshman year, each student is assigned one counselor that is intended to remain with that student for the duration of their Freshman and Sophomore year. Another counselor will be assigned for the duration of their Junior and Senior year. This allows the counselor and student to establish rapport and build a trusting relationship, both necessary components when working towards a common goal.

School Counselors' Caseload

School Counselors

Counselors are assigned by last names

Brookside Campus School Counselors

Washington Campus School Counselors

Grade 9/ 10 Team

Phone

Grade 11/ 12

Phone

ELL
Edith Martinez
emartinez@wps60.org

224-303-2942

Aaron- Castellanos-Ortiz and AVID
Patricia Caine
pcaine@wps60.org

224-303-3482

Abby Polonsky
apolonsky@wps60.org

224-303-3053

Castilleja - Garay
Sheril Philip
sphilip@wps60.org


   

Garcia- Knuth
Chad McMillian
cmcmillin@wps60.org

224-303-3362

Kara Hartman
khartman@wps60.org

224-303-2935


Lara-Gonzalez - Mena

Kendal Kinert 

kkinert@wps60.org

 
224-303-3363

James Messina
jmessina@wps60.org

224-303-2934


Mendez- Renteria

Yesim ( Jessie) Sonmez
ysonmez@wps60.org

 

Cara Wyatt
cwyatt@wps60.org

224-303-2962


Reyes- Solis
Hunstman Manning
hmanning@wps60.org
             
 

Lisa Wickell
lwickell@wps60.org

224-303-3054

 
Solis-Aranda- Zurita
Holli Schlifke 
hschlifke@wps60.org

 

Dana Ruby
daruby@wps60.org

224-303-3052


ELL
Gabriela Bustamante
gbustamante@wps60.org


224-303-3393

Check out our College page on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/bulldogready/

Course Offering Guide.pdf

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.